NLL All-Conference teams released

The Northern Lights League released its conference awards for the 2022 Fall seasons. The league contains some of the smallest schools in terms of enrollment in the state, including Grand Marais and Munising Baptist.

The top award is for the individual players of the year, with a cumulative vote total deciding the win. Junior Chloe May of Maplewood Baptist (Kinross) won Player of the Year for volleyball over Alix Bleu of Big Bay de Noc and Olga Burton of Beaver Island. In soccer, Big Bay’s Joel Gillespie edged out tournament champion Pedro Roche of Ojibwe for the recognition.

The Polar Bears were blanked from Fall awards this season, despite fielding a volleyball team for the first time in over a decade and winning its first soccer game in six years.

Volleyball First Team: C. May (MAP), A.

Bleu (BBdN), O. Burton (BI), N.

Thomson (OJI), F. Hudecek (MAP), M. Jentoft (MAP) Second Team: A. Turner (OJI), E.

Paz (HAN), D. Lattergrass (HAN), L.

Morris (BBdN), I. Nitzschke (MI), M. Rickley (MI) Honorable Mention: A. Martin ( BI), Liberty Heyrman (MB), Willow Mosier (MB), M. McNeill (PAR)

Soccer First Team: J. Gillespie (BBdN), P. Roche (OJI), N. DesJardin (BBdN), D. Kromer (MI), M. Cowell (MI), V. Davis (MI), Ryan Swift (MB), C. Miller (BBdN), G. Mosley (MI), A. Vasini (OJI), A. Yiirs (OJI), D.

Metzger (HAN) Second Team: A. Dean (BI), J.

Adkins (OJI), B. Thill (BBdN), M.

Richards (BI), A. Gruits (MI), Dylan Swift (MB), J. Beaver (HAN), A.

Willis (HAN), K. Mathias (HAN), B.

Soderquist (MI)